Navigation Menu

Presentation

The CAVEX, reserve for endangered animals on the brink of extinction exists since 1999. Its founder, Doctor Henri Quinque, has invested all his revenues earned as a surgeon to construct  a center for the safeguard, conservation and reproduction of animals. He travelled the world to find rare animals, meet scientists, employ five persons on a full time basis to care for the animals. He then created the association of CAVEX.

Our history

Our history

To start the actions, the Doctor has concentrated his efforts on endemic animals of the Oceania region and particularly a beautiful and attaching animal which is intelligent but endangered of extinction, the Cagou. Today, it is one of the best achievements of the CAVEX which is among the organisations to succeed in the reporduction of cagous outside its natural habitat.

In 2002, the Doctor and his wife has given by notarial act an important collection of animals in danger of extinction which they constitued during 40 years as well as premises to shelter them. It is a genetic safe of 600 rare animals, for which the CAVEX benefits of mutual conventions with their native countries. The stake for the CAVEX is to ensure a better future for theses exceptional animals which it has conserved with the intention of reintroducing them in their natural habitat in the future.

Our missions

Our missions

The CAVEX has three main missions :

  • Awareness : raising public awareness for environmental protection, and more importantly for young public to make of them future eco-citizens
  • Safeguard : safeguard and ensure the reproduction of the endangered species to reintroduce them in their natural habitat when it is appropriate
  • Collaboration : pursue a partenership for scientific research with the National Natural History Museum of France

 

Prev Next
  • L'entrée du Conservatoire

    L'entrée du Conservatoire
  • Le jardin

    Le jardin
  • Le jardin

    Le jardin
  • L'étang

    L'étang
  • Le jardin

    Le jardin
  • Les volières

    Les volières

 

For more details

close
Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonVisitez notre page Viadeo !Visitez notre page Viadeo !

Navigation Menu

Présentation

Le Conservatoire des Animaux en Voie d’Extinction existe depuis 1999. Son fondateur, Docteur Henri Quinque, a investi tous les revenus de ses honoraires de chirurgien (à titre personnel et dans la discrétion) pour construire un centre de sauvegarde, de conservation et de reproduction. Puis il a fallu dénicher les animaux menacés, voyager à travers le monde, rencontrer des scientifiques, engager cinq personnes à plein temps pour s’occuper des animaux. Il a enfin créé une association, le CAVEX.

Notre histoire

Notre histoire

Pour commencer son action, le Docteur s’est concentré sur les animaux endémiques de la région Océanie et notamment par un animal aussi beau et attachant qu’intelligent et menacé, le Cagou huppé. Aujourd’hui, c’est l’une de ses fiertés car le CAVEX est la première et la seule au monde organisation à le faire reproduire de manière efficace en dehors de son pays d’origine.

En 2002, le Docteur et son épouse ont donné à l’association, par acte notarié, l’importante collection des animaux en voie de disparition qu’ils ont constituée pendant 40 ans avec mise à disposition gratuite des locaux qui les abritent. Il s’agit d’un coffre-fort génétique de 600 animaux rares, faisant partie, pour plusieurs d’entre eux, de conventions privilégiées avec des nations étrangères. L’enjeu du CAVEX est de rechercher un avenir aux animaux exceptionnels qu’il a su conserver dans la perspective d’une réintroduction future dans leur milieu naturel.

Nos missions

Nos missions

Le CAVEX a trois missions principales :

  • la sensibilisation : sensibiliser le public à la défense de l’environnement, et plus particulièrement le jeune public pour en faire de futurs citoyens responsables
  • la sauvegarde : sauvegarder et faire se reproduire les espèces menacées pour les réintroduire dans la nature
  • la collaboration : poursuivre un partenariat de recherches scientifiques avec le Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle

 

Prev Next
  • L'entrée du Conservatoire

    L'entrée du Conservatoire
  • Le jardin

    Le jardin
  • Le jardin

    Le jardin
  • L'étang

    L'étang
  • Le jardin

    Le jardin
  • Les volières

    Les volières

 

Pour en savoir plus

close
Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonVisitez notre page Viadeo !Visitez notre page Viadeo !