Navigation Menu

Actions

The projects established since the foundation of the CAVEX in 1999 have the aims of, firstly, ensuring the survival of the CAVEX’s activities and, secondly, aims at ensuring its financial support. The safeguard is translated into educational programmes elaborated by the CAVEX via itinerary exhibitionsinterventions in classrooms and in priority working to open a center that would be open to the public.  Furthermore, the CAVEX will pursue its reintroduction programmes of the Cagou in New Caledonia and the Golden Lion tamarin in Brazil. It continues its work to breed endangered species of animals on the brink of extinction which are sheltered at the CAVEX reserve.

Maintenance and animal care

Maintenance and animal care

An important amount of time resides in the maintenance, preparation and adaptation  of the animals for their presenttaion to the public and the global actions needed for the reproduction of endangered species with the aim of  reintroducing them in the nature. The main stake is the preservation of successful results obtained and to ensure a better future  for these exceptional animals and their siblings.

Several recent births of difficult species proves the CAVEX is striving to attain its goal. The  technicians of the CAVEX reserve have developed protocols which permits the good performance of reproduction of high valued patrimonial species, such as the Cagou of New Caledonia, the St Vincent Amazon or the Golden Lion Tamarin. They have also stimulated other rare animal species whose reproduction in captivity is known to be very difficult.

A scientific programme has been elaborated in collaboration with the French National Natural history Museum. The CAVEX has to constantly improve its techniques in order to develop the reproduction of rare animals and ensure a sucre future for them. This represents a major stake for the reintroduction in their natural habitat.

Scientific programme

Scientific programme

The scientific programme is oriented around three themes:

  • Genetic research on the Cagou
  • Animal Nutrition Study
  • Veterinary Care
  • Incubation techniques of difficult species
  • Breeding of young specimens endangered by extinction

This programme is coupled with reintroduction projects in the natural habitat of the different species for which the CAVEX benefits of the support of the Ministry of Ecology and sustainable development and the National Natural History Museum of France.

Reintroduction programme

Reintroduction programme

The reintroduction projects of the CAVEX are made possible in favorable conditions since the reserve of the association has an important population of animals which have successfully reproduced in captivity.

In 30 years, the Doctor Quinque has constituted an important group of captive cagous. The scope for a reintroduction in an adapted space in the north of New Caledonia would allow this country to reconstitute its genetic biodiversity. The conditions have to be gathered in collaboration with the Ministry of Ecology and sustainable development.

A second project is being studied for the reintroduction of the Golden Lion Tamarin in the North west of Brazil.

 

Prev Next
  • Le docteur Henri Quinque et les amazones de Saint Vincent

    Le docteur Henri Quinque et les amazones de Saint Vincent
  • Des soins dès la naissance

    Des soins dès la naissance
  • Des soins dès la naissance

    Des soins dès la naissance
  • L'élevage de jeunes animaux menacés d'extinction

    L'élevage de jeunes animaux menacés d'extinction
  • La reproduction d'espèces rares

    La reproduction d'espèces rares
  • La reproduction d'espèces rares

    La reproduction d'espèces rares

 

For more details

  • Download the presentation brochure : Brochure
close
Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonVisitez notre page Viadeo !Visitez notre page Viadeo !

Navigation Menu

Actions

Les projets menés depuis la création du CAVEX en 1999 ont pour objectifs, d’une part, de pérenniser l’action du CAVEX et, d’autre part, d’équilibrer son budget. Cette pérennisation se traduit au niveau de la mission pédagogique du CAVEX par la réalisation d’expositions itinérantes, les interventions dans les classes et en priorité la création d’un site ouvert au public.  Par ailleurs, le CAVEX affinera ses projets de réintroduction du Cagou en Nouvelle Calédonie et du Singe-Lion à tête dorée, au Brésil. Il poursuit son activité d’élevage des espèces en voie d’extinction qui vivent au Conservatoire.  

Entretien et soins des animaux

Entretien et soins des animaux

Une charge importante de l’association demeure l’entretien, la préparation et l’adaptation des animaux à la présentation au public et l’ensemble des actions nécessaires à la reproduction des espèces menacées dans le but de les réintroduire dans la nature. L’enjeu principal est de préserver les résultats obtenus et de proposer un avenir à ces animaux exceptionnels et à leurs descendances.

Plusieurs naissances récentes d’espèces difficiles confortent cette action majeure. Les techniciens du Conservatoire ont développé des protocoles permettant d’obtenir et de mener à bien les reproductions des espèces à forte valeur patrimoniale, comme le Cagou de Nouvelle Calédonie, l’Amazone de St Vincent ou le Singe-Lion à tête dorée brésilien. Ils ont également stimulé d’autres espèces rarissimes dont la reproduction et l’élevage en captivité sont également très difficiles.

Un programme scientifique a été élaboré en concertation avec le Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle. Le CAVEX doit en permanence affiner ses techniques afin de poursuivre la reproduction d’animaux rares et de sécuriser l’avenir de la collection qui représente un enjeu primordial pour la réintroduction dans les milieux naturels.

Programme scientifique

Programme scientifique

Le programme scientifique s’articule autour des thèmes suivants :

  • Recherches génétiques sur le Cagou
  • Etude de l’alimentation
  • Soins vétérinaires
  • Techniques d’incubation des espèces difficiles
  • Elevage des jeunes sujets d’espèces en danger de disparition

Ce programme s’accompagne de projets de réintroduction dans le milieu naturel de certaines espèces, pour lesquels le CAVEX dispose du soutien du Ministère de l’écologie et du développement durable et du Muséum national d’histoire naturelle.

Programme de réintroduction

Programme de réintroduction

Les projets de réintroduction du CAVEX permettent d’être envisagés dans des conditions très favorables dans la mesure où l’association dispose d’un important cheptel d’animaux qui se sont reproduits en captivité.

En trente ans, le Docteur Quinque a constitué le plus important groupe mondial de cagous captifs. Les perspectives d’une réintroduction dans un espace adapté du nord de la Grande Terre, permettront à la Nouvelle Calédonie de reconstituer sa biodiversité génétique. Les conditions sont à réunir, en collaboration avec le Ministère de l’écologie et du développement durable.

Un second projet est à l’étude pour la réintroduction du singe lion à tête dorée dans le nord-est du Brésil.

 

Prev Next
  • Le docteur Henri Quinque et les amazones de Saint Vincent

    Le docteur Henri Quinque et les amazones de Saint Vincent
  • Des soins dès la naissance

    Des soins dès la naissance
  • Des soins dès la naissance

    Des soins dès la naissance
  • L'élevage de jeunes animaux menacés d'extinction

    L'élevage de jeunes animaux menacés d'extinction
  • La reproduction d'espèces rares

    La reproduction d'espèces rares
  • La reproduction d'espèces rares

    La reproduction d'espèces rares

 

Pour en savoir plus

  • Pourquoi aider le Cavex ? : Brochure
close
Facebook Iconfacebook like buttonVisitez notre page Viadeo !Visitez notre page Viadeo !